Scottish Ministers appoint Scottish Housing Regulator Chair and Board Members for a second term


11 June 2021

Today Scottish Ministers announced that Scottish Housing Regulator Chair, George Walker along with Board members Siobhan White, Andrew Watson and Bob Gil have all been appointed for a second term.  George, Siobhan and Andrew have been appointed for a further four years each and Bob for two years, all from 1 July 2021.  The Board sets the Regulator’s strategic direction and has responsibility for governance and oversight of SHR.  Find out more about these appointments here.

George Walker, Chair of the Scottish Housing Regulator said:

“I am delighted to continue to serve on the Board of the Scottish Housing Regulator and help to safeguard and promote the interests of tenants and others who use housing services. This is an important time as we work with our stakeholders to support the national COVID-19 response and tackle the challenges ahead”

I am pleased that my colleagues: Siobhan, Andrew and Bob have also been appointed for second terms. The whole Board looks forward to welcoming two new members later in the year following the current round of ongoing recruitment.”

Scottish Ministers are also currently recruiting to fill two vacancies on the Regulator’s Board.  Find out more about ongoing recruitment here

Notes to editors

  1. The Scottish Housing Regulator was established on 1 April 2011 under the Housing (Scotland) Act 2010. Its objective is to safeguard and promote the interests of tenants and others who use local authority and RSL housing services. The Regulator operates independently of Scottish Ministers and is accountable directly to the Scottish Parliament. It assumed its full regulatory responsibilities on 1 April 2012. The Regulator consists of the Chair and six Board members. More information about the Regulator can be found on its website at
  2. SHR regulates around 160 registered social landlords and the housing activities of 32 local authorities.
  3. SHR sets out how it regulates social landlords in its published framework – Regulation of Social Housing in Scotland.
  4. Appointments to SHR's Board are made by Scottish Ministers and regulated by the Ethical Standards Commissioner. 


Tracy Davren Communications Manager